Dublin, the boy in Paris, Christmas at home, 21st Birthday, and Chinese New Years, oh my!

Posted on May 20, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

So the post a day didn’t exactly happen, because of finals and a nasty cold that I can’t quite quit, but I’m pushing through to try and document as much as possible of what happened during my long absence, before getting to the good stuff of my amazing spring break trip of awesome (pictures are already up on my flickr if you are curious and want a sneak peek.) Anyways, I’ve decided that the best ways to get you all caught up is via a short picture diary of the major events of December 2008 to January 2009.

First stop, Dublin: December 5th to December 7th

Travel Companions: Jamie and Alix

Where we stayed: Charles Stuart Guesthouse in a huge triple room. Very friendly people plus tasty traditional Irish breakfast every morning.

Favorite thing eaten: Sausages and Grand Marnier hot chocolate at the Temble Bar Food Market.

What we did: Saw Malahide Castle, went on the Guinness Factory Tour, walked around St. Stephen’s Green, and window shopped on Grafton Street.

Favorite memory: Going to a club where Jamie and I went to grab drinks and turned around to ask Alix what she wanted only to find her making out with the HOTTEST guy I’ve ever seen. Like epically hot. So sad I don’t have a picture.

The Boy’s Visit to Paris (Take One!): December 11th to December 17th

Where we stayed: In an adorable rental apartment I found on Craigslist in the Marais (which continues to be my favorite neighborhood in Paris, btdubs). I somehow forgot to take pictures of it though, but that’s probably because I had the boy to myself for the first time in months and was, ummm…busy.

Where we ate: here and there, we did a lot of cooking ourselves, but nothing so remarkable as to merit me taking pictures of it or giving you the recipe. We did have one rather tasty dinner, however, at Au Bourguingon du Marais, which was down the street from our apartment. We also made an full American dinner for my host parents, including bleu cheese burgers, autumn cold slaw, and an awesome mustard vinaigrette potato salad.

Favorite memory: My host dad’s cheese tasting he gave for a group of Smithies. So much cheese! I sadly forgot my camera, or maybe was just taken up by a whole dinner table filled with cheese. Oh, and each one had a wine to go with it, so even if I had my camera I probably would have forgotten to keep taking pictures about half-way through. Anyways it was fun to see S interact with my host family and Paris friends, especially given that he speaks about three words of French.

Going home for the holidays: December 20th to January 3rd

What I did: S’s family’s annual tree decorating party, my mom’s annual INSANE Christmas decorations (our house looks like a catalog, people), celebrated Christmas, celebrated S and I’s 6 year anniversary, celebrated S’s parents 25th wedding anniversary and saw a bunch of friends for a relatively chill New Year’s.

What I ate: SO MUCH MEXICAN AND SOUTHERN FOOD. Seriously though, Chuy’s special enchiladas and Threadgills’s garlic cheese grits may own the key to my soul, just like Moonshine’s flat iron steak owns a part of S’s.

21st Birthday!: January 22nd

Where we ate: Chez L’Ami Jean, with Alix and Jamie (soooo good, get the riz au grand-mère), with my host fam and Champagne at my house, and at a Chinese place with the group that was going out for drinks a couple of days later.

Where we drank: Alcazar, where I had a very reserved 1 margarita.

Chinese New Year’s

What we happened: we went a fun parade in the 13th (though not the part where I live). There were dragons and then dim sum, which is to say, it was a great afternoon.

See you all on Friday to tell you about S’s other visit to Paris!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Dublin, the boy in Paris, Christmas at home, 21st Birthday, and Chinese New Years, oh my!”

RSS Feed for An American Girl in Paris Comments RSS Feed

Wow! It looks like you’re having an amazing time.
I love Jezebel, BTW. I get all my news from there.

Also. That video you sent me- amazing!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

