Only three months too late…

Posted on January 20, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

So, I know, I was bad and didn’t post last week. You must think I’m pretty shitty at resolutions. I have however been writing in my journal, despite being dead tired thanks to finals madness. So I’m working on the whole blogging thing. And so, in honor of the wonderful inauguration that is going on this afternoon, I’ve decided to finally tell you the story of election night in Paris.

It started out well planned enough. Some friends and I had RSVP-ed to a party at Porte Maillot, since my mom told me way too late that she was willing to buy my tickets to the Embassy bash (not that I’m bitter or anything, but what ever). So Champagne and I head over to Porte Maillot (which is way the fuck away from where I live) to meet up with Alix, Jamie and several other Smithies.

And then we waited.

And waited.

And waited.

Until around 2 am when the organizers of the party asked that everyone (all 1000 of us) get in line in alphabetical order and people started getting mad.

So, being the smart girls that we are, we left. After several night bus misadventures (always check the direction your bus is going in), including running into another group of American girls on the bus and copious amounts of pre-gaming, we found our way to a Canadian bar that was going to be open until 5 am.

So we drank.

And we danced.

And we celebrated as results came in, state by state.

Until, at 5 am, we finally got the results.

The bar went wild and I have some great videos I’m going to post later, but I’m in class right now, so I can’t pick which ones I want. After that, we hung around the bar until they literally kicked us out and we ran around trying to find a place with CNN so that we could watch Obama’s acceptance speech.

Finally, I decided to head to a talk Sciences Po was hosting to watch the speech, while Champagne and the rest went home. We were even on the French news! I also have some videos from that I’m planning on posting at a later date.


From there, the night kind of wound down into morning. I saw Obama’s amazing acceptance speech at Sciences Po, got coffee at a café around the corner, met up with Champagne (who had been accidentally locked out of her house) and pretty much hung out until it was time to meet up with my presentation group for my class on women and politics. I gave my presentation at around 10 am, got home at 1:00 and was asleep by 1:05. All in all, it was a pretty wonderful night and one that will probably stick with me for the rest of my life.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Only three months too late…”

RSS Feed for An American Girl in Paris Comments RSS Feed

Looks like you had an interesting evening. Great friends and a little chaos make a fun mix. A visit to Paris is on my to do list. Love the pics.
jj- http://javajune.wordpress.com/


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

